

# MINUTES

## SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

held on

## Monday, 18 October 2021 at 6:00pm

at the

Shire of Morawa Council Chambers, 26 Winfield Street, Morawa



WESTERN AUSTRALIA'S WILDFLOWER COUNTRY

#### DISCLAIMER

No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Morawa for any act, omission, statement or intimation occurring during Council Meetings. The Shire of Morawa disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission, and statement of intimation occurring during Council Meetings.

Any person or legal entity that acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission occurring in a Council Meeting does so at their own risk. The Shire of Morawa advises that any person or legal entity should only rely on formal confirmation or notification of Council resolutions.

### Item 1 Opening of Meeting

The CEO declared the meeting open at 6:00pm.

### Item 2 Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners and Dignitaries

The CEO acknowledges the traditional custodians, the Yamatji people, and recognises the contribution of Yamatji elders past, present and future, in working together for the future of Morawa.

'This meeting is being recorded on audio tape and to assist with minute taking purposes. The public is reminded that in accordance with Section 6.16 of the Shire of Morawa Meeting Procedures Local Law 2012 that nobody shall use any visual or vocal recording device or instrument to record the proceedings of Council without the written permission of the presiding member'.

### Item 3 Recording of Attendance

#### 3.1 Attendance

#### Council

Councillor Dean Carslake Councillor Karen Chappel Councillor Jane Coaker Councillor Debbie Collins Councillor Yvette Harris Councillor Shirley Katona Councillor Ken Stokes

#### Staff

Chief Executive Officer Executive Manager Corporate & Community Services Executive Manager Works and Assets Scott Wildgoose Jackie Hawkins Paul Buist

Members of the Public

Nil

#### 3.2 Attendance by Telephone / Instantaneous Communications

Given the nature of the meeting involves a secret ballot the Chief Executive Officer requests that all Councillors attend the meeting in person and voting via electronic means will not be permitted.

#### 3.3 Apologies

Nil

#### 3.4 Approved Leave of Absence

Nil

#### 3.5 Disclosure of Interests

Nil

## Item 4 Declaration by all Members to have given due consideration to All Matters Contained in the Business Paper before the Meeting

The Elected Members to declare that they had given due consideration to all matters contained in the agenda.

- Councillor Dean Carslake
- Councillor Karen Chappel
- Councillor Jane Coaker
- Councillor Debbie Collins
- Councillor Yvette Harris
- Councillor Shirley Katona
- Councillor Ken Stokes

## Item 5 Confirmation of Declaration of Office

## 5.1 The Chief Executive Officer confirms that the newly elected Councillors completed their declarations.

Cr Carslake, Dean	Term Expires 18 October 2025
Cr Chappel, Karen	Term Expires 18 October 2025
Cr Collins, Debra	Term Expires 18 October 2025
Cr Stokes, Ken	Term Expires 18 October 2025

Completed the declaration by elected member of Council in the presence of an authorised person prior to the commencement of this the first Council meeting, after the election date of 16 October 2021, and as such are duly authorised to undertake their official duties as Councillors of the Shire of Morawa.

## Item 6 Election of Shire President and Deputy President

#### 6.1 Election of the Shire President

The election for the position of Shire President is by secret ballot. The CEO is responsible for the election.

- 6.1.1 The CEO called for nominations and announced nominations received in writing:
  - 6.1.1.1 Nomination received from Cr Karen Chappel.
- 6.1.2 The CEO announced that Cr Karen Chappel was elected unopposed as Shire President.
- 6.1.3 Cr Karen Chappel undertook the declaration of office as Shire President.

#### 6.2 Election of Deputy Shire President

The President assumed the chair and asked the CEO to conduct the election for the position of Deputy Shire President by secret ballot.

- 6.2.1 The CEO called for nominations and announced nominations received in writing:
  - 6.2.1.1 Nomination received from Cr Ken Stokes.
- 6.2.2 The CEO announced that Cr Ken Stokes was elected unopposed as Shire Deputy President.
- 6.2.3 Cr Ken Stokes undertook the declaration of office as Shire Deputy President.

Councillors were asked to note that the allocation of elected members to committees, both internal and external will be conducted at the Ordinary Meeting of Council on Thursday, 21 October 2021.

## Item 7 Closure

## 7.1 Date of Next Meeting

The next ordinary meeting of Council will be held on Thursday, 21 October 2021 commencing at 5.30pm.

## 7.2 Closure

There being no further business, the President declared the meeting closed at 6.10pm.