

### **MINUTES**

# SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

### HELD ON

# MONDAY, 23 October 2017

### 5.05рм

# SHIRE COUNCIL CHAMBERS



WESTERN AUSTRALIA'S WILDFLOWER COUNTRY

### 1. Opening

- 1.1 The Acting Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 5.05pm.
- 1.2 Recording of those Present

Cr	D S Agar
Cr Elect	D S Carslake
Cr Elect	K J Chappel
Cr	J M Coaker
Cr Elect	D B Collins
Cr Elect	K Stokes
Cr	M J Thornton

Mr S Fletcher	Acting Chief Executive Officer
Mrs S Appleton	Executive Manager Development & Administration
Mrs W Gledhill	Executive Manager Corporate & Community Services
Ms E Cuthbert	Economic Development Manager
Mr P Buist	Principal Works Manager
Mrs S Adams	Executive Assistant to CEO

1.3 Recording of Apologies

Nil

1.4 Recording Leave of Absence Previously Approved

Nil

1.5 Declarations of Office

The ACEO "swore in" the councillor elects (who were elected unopposed):

- Cr Elect D S Carslake
- Cr Elect K J Chappel
- Cr Elect D B Collins
- Cr Elect K Stokes
- 1.5.1 Each councillor elect completed the first paragraph of Form7 (Declaration by Elected Member of Council) given to themby the ACEO.
- 1.5.2 Each councillor elect was called by the ACEO, made the declaration of office.
- 1.5.3 The ACEO completed the remainder of Form 7.
- 1.6 Election of the Shire President
  - 1.6.1 The ACEO called for nominations:

- 1.6.1.1 Announced nomination for Cr Chappel received in writing;
- 1.6.1.2 Called for other nominations of which there were none.
- 1.6.2 The CEO announced that Cr Chappel had been elected as Shire President.
- 1.6.3 The Shire President undertook the declaration of office.
- 1.7 Election of Deputy Shire President
  - 1.7.1 1.7.1 The President called for nominations:
    - 1.7.1.1 Announced nomination for Cr Carslake received in writing;
    - 1.7.1.2 Called for other nominations of which there were none.
  - 1.7.2 The President announced that Cr Carslake had been elected as Deputy Shire President.
  - 1.7.3 The Deputy Shire President undertook the declaration of office.

### 2. Public Question Time and Deputations

#### 2.1 Response to previous public questions taken on notice

Nil

#### 2.2 Public question time

Nil

### 3. Meeting Closure

The President declared the meeting closed at 5.18pm.

### 4. Next Meeting

The next ordinary meeting of the Morawa Shire Council will be held on Thursday 23 November 2017, commencing from 5.30pm.